Even my parents like Lady Gaga

Conversation with the boyfriend on Friday, May 20th, as he’s downloading videos from You Tube…

BF: Hey? Do you know who this Lady “Gaga” is?

Me: ………………………………………………… (Is he fucking serious?!?)

BF: You Tube keeps suggesting I “like” it.

Me: Oh. Okay. You’re for realsies……

BF: Wha?

Me: Lady Gaga? Really, honey? Really?

BF: Is she somebody I should know?

Me: ………………… Well, you might be the last person in the World to have heard of her, but I get it. From you. Even my parents like her. Me? I’m more meh…..Wait. What video is it?

BF: Judas? Ooh…..biblical stuff?

Me: ……………………. It’s more symbolic than anything. Play it.

BF: Wow. She’s weird.

Me: Yep. I like the artistic shit going on in this video though…seriously…how can you NOT know who Lady Gaga is? She’s like the #1 celebrity in the freaking WORLD right now? (Thinking for a reference he’d understand…) Do you remember that Leverage episode we watched, where Parker dressed up like a celebrity performer person to evade capture?

BF: Oh yeah!

Me: …….. she was emulating Lady Gaga…………….

BF: Oh…..I kinda like it?

Me: ……………………………

Now in his defense, he’s old? Wait…….even my parents like her.

Hell, after that video, I kinda like her too?!

BF’s problem is that while he’s 44, he honestly thinks he’s 24…

Which amuses me most of the time…

When I don’t want to stab him that is…. 😉

To clarify, all of his favorite bands are either broken up or dead.

Don’t get me wrong. I love me some Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, and The Eagles, but I’m a bit more well-rounded than that.

Hell, who am I kidding? My musical tastes are so entirely eclectic, I can barely keep up with myself.

I have a tendency to “shelter” BF from my uncertain musical tastes.

My favorite sport is Musical Shuffle. Yes, Shuffle is a sport! Especially with our musical tastes. Because you just never know what’s going to play…

Judas Priest? Christina Aguliera? Halestorm? The Pixies? Prince? Dio?

Wait…what? Dio???

Oh right….that one’s his……

On that note, happy Rapture y’all!

If any of you are actually pure enough to be raptured, then good for you.

You’ve lived an honorable life.

I’ll still be here. Sans honor, looting and drinking myself into oblivion.

I’ve got a lot of debauchery to fit in before the world ends in October. 🙂

~ by christel42 on May 21, 2011.

Leave a comment