This is why they invented coffee.

 

Okay, so it’s after noon, but let me just give you a brief re-cap of my night of restlessness. 

12:49 a.m. ~ Go to bed.

1:12 a.m. ~ Finally fall asleep. Actually, for me, that’s pretty quick.

4:11 a.m. ~ Wake up from horrific nightmare. Get up. Pee. Have cigarette. Wonder why BF isn’t home from work yet.

4:18 a.m. ~ Go back to bed. Lie awake freaking out over dream.

4:46 a.m. ~ BF gets home from work. I get up. He shares his “wonderful news” with me. I tell him I had a nightmare about being raped in our bedroom. We hug and hang out for awhile. He eats dinner, plays guitar. I chain-smoke.

6:11 a.m. ~ We go to bed.

6: 24 a.m. ~ He falls asleep, snoring loudly. (Sometimes, I hate the way he can just do that.)

6:57 a.m. ~ AFter tossing and turning for 33 minutes, I finally get up to pee again. (Did I mention I drink a lot of water?)

7:08 a.m. ~ I fall into a fitful sleep. He’s snoring like a baby monster.

7: 32 a.m. ~ I wake up from another nightmare, and again pee and smoke.

7: 47 a.m. ~ I fall back asleep.

10:38 a.m. ~ I wake up. Again. (DAMNIT!!!) I get up, smoke, check my email, and go back to bed. Hoping…

10:49 a.m. ~ 12:00 p.m. ~ I toss and turn and eventually write this blog post in my head.

I give up. I’m gonna go make coffee and eat banana bread with cream cheese.

And before y’all get all old wives’ remedies for insomnia on me, this isn’t a new thing for me. It’s just gotten worse lately. It’s stress. I know that, but it still sucks.

~ by christel42 on November 29, 2011.

5 Responses to “This is why they invented coffee.”

  1. That is officially nuts… Sounds like an awful night. Hope you manage to get better sleep soon! I can understand why you wouldn’t get sleep if someone is snoring like a bear next to you. Maybe see if he would fix that? Haha… just a thought.

    • Oh I’m used to the bear snoring thing. I’ve had years of practice! I just usually turn so my good ear is against the pillow, and then I can block most of it out. Sometimes the cat is just as bad…

  2. When you have insomnia, you’re never really asleep… and you’re never really awake – Fight Club

  3. coffee is just

  4. Hope you’re coming back to your blog. I like it. And I’m interested in Portland stuff.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers

