There’s an app for that.

Remember the days of old? You know, back before the dinosaurs? Like when there were rotary dial phones? Busy signals? Actual answering machines?

If you’re under 30, probably not.

We’re all so emotionally attached to our devices these days. Seriously, I’d probably be flailing in the wind without my phone at times, yet I go through phases. Sometimes, I simply turn the damned thing off and read a book. You know, with a pages made of paper and whatnot…

Don’t get me wrong. I’m just as guilty as the next guy. I’m constantly reading a minimum of one paperback book, one Kindle book, and at least one manuscript (unpublished) on my PC. I even employ Goodreads.com to keep track of it all for me.

See my last post: Reading Is Sexy.

Sometimes, it gets a bit over-whelming, however.

Sometimes, I feel pulled in so many different directions, I can barely see straight.

This is when I know it’s time to unplug.

 

Case in point: this is a conversation I had with the boyfriend last week…

Me: *clacking away maniacally on the keyboard*

BF: “Hey…do you want to maybe get OFF the computer and watch a DVD with me?”

Me: “Oh…um yeah…hang on…” *closes out multiple windows and signs off*

Meanwhile, we proceed to watch The X Files, season 2.

Me: *picks up cell…tweets “creepy X files”…*

BF: “Are you twittering?”

Me: *looks up guilty* “Um yeah…”

BF: “pfffttttt”

Speaking of, I just retweeted Thom Hartmann while writing this…

As a writer and a reader, I am a firm believer in social media and its use as a tool for marketing, especially in this age of Indie Publishing. I use it often.

Hell, I just got an editing gig via Twitter this week?! Awesome.

Almost all of the authors I’ve beta read/proofread/edited for have been friends I’ve met via social media. And I love that.

I guess my point is this: no matter how dependent we are on technology, it is important to simply unplug, even if only for an hour.

Give your mind (and eyes) a break. Stand up, stretch, take a walk, read a book, or just simply go get some sunshine. :)

Life is too short, and while technology is an awesome advancement, it is likewise a curse.

Use it wisely.

So, dear Readers, I implore you to shut off your cells, turn off your computer, just for a day. You’d be amazed at the joy that a simple life can offer.

~ by christel42 on June 22, 2011.

4 Responses to “There’s an app for that.”

  1. Isn’t that what I do when I sleep? lol

  2. I still have a landline and an answering machine. Most of the time my pay-as-you-go cell phone needs to be charged because I use it so infrequently. The computer on the other hand…it’s always on. :)

    • You may be one of the last people…LOL. Even my techno-moron BF has a cell phone, although he still can’t figure out how to use most of the apps…I just mess around with stuff until I figure it out. Kinda like life.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers

